Skip to main content

Go Global: Library Electronic Resources that Support International Research: Finding International Data and Statistics

This guide was originally created as a resource for the 2012 Teaching Learning Fair; and provides resources and information on doing international research.

International Data and Statistics: Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

CDC Global Health

"CDC’s global health mission is to improve the health, safety, and security of Americans while reducing morbidity and mortality worldwide. This is achieved through its unique technical skills, scientific knowledge and research, collaborative partnerships, and evidence-based, global public health action."

Explore global health issues; learn how CDC is working to stop global health threats in locations around the globe; find information about global epidemics such as HIV and Tuberculosis; and more.

World Health Organization (WHO)

The World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN), established in 1948.  "WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends."

Global Health Observatory (GHO)

Gateway to health-related statistics for WHO's 194 member states.  Epidemiological and statistical information available from a variety of sources at the country or regional level. Most WHO technical programs make statistical information available and links are provided.  Indicators cover the following categories: mortality and burden of disease, health service coverage, risk factors, health systems resources, inequities, demographic and socioeconomic statistics.

World Health Statistics Reports

Annual snapshot of the state of the world’s health.  WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.

 

Data Africa

Data Africa is an online data visualization tool designed to provide information on key themes for research and development, such as agriculture, climate, poverty and child health across 13 countries in Africa South of the Sahara at the sub-national level.

 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

Government of Australia’s health and welfare statistics agency.  Reports and data on a wide range of health and welfare related topics, such as health conditions, disease, population groups.

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Part of the UN system, PAHO is the specialized international health agency for the Americas (Central, South, and North America, and the Caribbean).  The agency works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health. PAHO Member States (all 35 countries of the Americas).

 

Eurostat

 

UN Data

The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)

U.S. Census Bureau

HIV/AIDS Data Base

Access data resources from various sources on HIV/ AIDS prevalence and incidence for countries in Europe, Latin America & the Caribbean, & Oceania.  

International Data Base

Global demographic and vital statistics indicators for countries and regions of the world available from 1950 with projections to 2050. The International Data Base (IDB) was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s.

 

Provides free and open access to global development data.   Users can browse the data by Country, Indicators, Topics, or by using the data catalog.

 

 

UNECE Statistical Database

The statistical arm of The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE), which was established in 1947. Provides country overviews; data on indicators related to Millennium Development Goals, health, population and gender, transportation, economics and forestry.

Databases