Library Databases
Research databases are the best way to find information for your assignments. They contain thousands of full text articles and can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.
To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases
Help!
Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:
Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425
Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720
You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Databases
- World History This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly history publications, images, maps and charts.. Includes Primary Documents. - History Research This link opens in a new window
Primary documents as well as essays about historical topics and people.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, images, and primary sources about many subjects.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical articles about people in the news, arts, literature, sports, and history.
World History in Context
Off Campus Access
To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access
Database Searching
Databases are not intuitive like search engines are (Google), so to use them you need a strategy.
1. Use two or three keywords instead of a sentence.
- I need to find information for a debate on whether human activities cause global warming
- Keywords--global warming--humans
2. Use AND to connect the keywords
- global warming AND humans
3. Use quotation marks to search a phrase
- "global warming" AND humans
4. Too many results? Too few results? Try related words or synonyms
- "climate change" instead of "global warming"
- people instead of humans