Deepak's Guide to Holistic Health
There is a growing body of research establishing the inextricable connection of the mind, body, and spirit – and the value of lifestyle practices that encompass all three aspects. Just as the quality of your food, water, and exercise directly affects the health of your body and mind, so the energy and information you take in through your mind and sensory organs influences your body and spirit.
https://chopra.com/articles/deepaks-guide-to-holistic-health
EBooks
Complementary and alternative medicine sourcebookCall Number: eBook R733 .C663 2018
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Natural Remedies by
More than 100 Remedies and Recipes for Vibrant Health! Packed with step-by-step instructions to make your own herbal remedies, simple recipes for cooking with herbs and spices, and beautiful photographs, this might be the most comprehensive guide to natural remedies ever published. Here readers can learn about alternative medicine and homeopathic approaches, aromatherapy and essential oils, and much, much more. Natural Healing for Common Ailments Cooking with Superfoods Juices & Cleanses Edible Wild Plants Planning an Herb Garden Everyday Treatments for Women & Children Natural Cleansers for the Home Homemade Non-Toxic Cosmetics Revitalizing Tinctures & Shots Anti-Inflammatory Foods Take charge of your family's health and well-being with this comprehensive guide.
Call Number: eBook R733 .I465 2020
The holistic Rx : your guide to healing chronic inflammation and disease by Call Number: eBook RB131 .S24 2017
Healing Ways by
When it comes to your health, it's important to know and understand all the options available to you. Should you stick with Western medicine alone? What are the benefits and dangers of alternative medicine? Can acupuncture, massage therapy, or meditation really help? In Healing Ways: An Integrative Health Sourcebook, you'll find important information about conventional and alternative therapies, and how they can work together to help you reap maximum benefits. This approach is called Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), and it lets you combine the best of both worlds: mainstream medical therapies and alternative solutions that have high-quality scientific evidence for safety and effectiveness. In the pages of this guide, you will find: How traditional Western medicine can work with CAM Expectations, cautions, and myths Talking to your doctor about CAM How to be a better health consumer How to decide which CAM methods are right for you Integrated Approaches--from ancient to modern Mind-Body Approaches, including mediation, yoga, relaxation techniques and more Chiropractic, massage therapy, reflexology, and other body work Herbal Medicine and Supplements CAM Method Finder, and more Take charge of your life--and your health--with this new approach to treatment that grows in popularity every day.
Call Number: eBook R733 .P34 2016
Holistic Health Search
Library Databases
Research databases are the best way to find information for your assignments. They contain thousands of full text articles and can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
To see all of the databases that we have follow this link: Articles and Research Databases.
Suggested Databases
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles focused on contemporary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
Off Campus Access
To search databases and obtain articles off-campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password.
To create a password follow this link: Login To My Library Account
Help!
Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:
Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425
Need other help?
Call Library Tech Support
443-840-2720
You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Alternative Health
On the Shelves at CCBC Libraries
Invitation to Holistic Health a Guide to Living a Balanced Life by
Invitation to Holistic Health: A Guide to Living a Balanced Life, Fourth Edition, features solid principles and proven practices to promote optimal health and well-being using a holistic approach. The text is divided into four parts: Strengthening Your Inner Resources; Developing Healthy Lifestyle Practices; Taking Charge of Challenges to the Body, Mind, and Spirit; and Safe Use of Complementary and Alternative Therapies. This easy-to-read guide provides how-to information for dealing with a variety of health-related issues, including nutrition, exercise, herbal remedies, and homeopathic remedies, to name a few. Unlike other holistic health textbooks, the Fourth Edition promotes a variety of therapies and provides evidence to support the practice of each one. New to the Fourth Edition:* Updated research related to holistic health and practices* Expanded coverage of obesity and diversity* Tips for practitioners on providing holistic care in conventional settings* Discussion around the integration of conventional medicine and alternative therapies
Call Number: R733 .E425 2018
Holistic Nursing a Handbook for Practice by
Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Seventh Edition continues as the definitive resource for holistic nursing for both students and professionals. Completely updated and revised, it includes seven new chapters on creative expressions in healing, herbs and dietary supplements, holistic leadership, holistic nursing education, self-care and self-development, advanced holistic nursing practice, and advanced integrative health and well-being practice demonstrated through case study exemplars. With an ideal blend of theoretical and practical content, the Seventh Edition features Dr. Dossey's Theory of Integral Nursing, including an update on global nursing and the UN Millennium goals. There is increased emphasis on teaching holistic nursing in undergraduate and graduate programs, including the use of simulation as an effective teaching pedagogy, an enhanced focus on ways to enrich holistic care to improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice and research, and new integrative health and wellness assessments. Essential chapters on Nurse Coaching and Dying in Peace, along with all other past chapters, are updated. Each chapter begins with Nurse Healer Objectives to guide learning within the theoretical, clinical, and personal domains and concludes with Nurse Healer Reflections to encourage readers to reflect on what they have learned. Also featured are helpful Directions for Future Research, definitions of key terms, and case studies that illustrate how to use and integrate the interventions into clinical practice. Organized by the five Core Values contained within the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) and the American Nurses Association (ANA) Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, Second Edition:* Core Value 1: Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics* Core Value 2: Holistic Caring Process* Core Value 3: Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Environment, and Cultural Diversity* Core Value 4: Holistic Education and Research* Core Value 5: Holistic Nurse Self-Reflection and Self-CareHolistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Seventh Edition has been awarded the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) Seal of Distinction. This newly developed Seal of Distinction indicates that the book is aligned with AHNA's mission, vision, and Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, Second Edition; is of interest to holistic nurses and of significant value to the nursing profession; provides knowledge that advances holistic nursing; is timely and relevant; is consistent with relevant historical publications; is scientifically and technically accurate; and is authored by individuals with demonstrated expertise in the field of the work submitted.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: RT42 .H65 2016
The Doctor's Book of Natural Health Remedies by
The most comprehensive handbook ever written about vitamins, herbs, supplements, and holistic healing--everything you need to feel better, live longer, and look great doing it THIS BOOK MAY HELP YOU SAVE A LIFE--YOUR OWN. With health care costs rising, insurance systems in flux, doctors and hospitals overwhelmed, the only person who can really take charge of your health and the health of your family is you. This is your guide. For more than 40 years, Natural Health has been the leading authority on holistic, alternative, and natural healing. Now, for the first time ever, all that science-based, expert-driven, research-intensive information has been distilled into one must-have, authoritative guide to healing the self. In these pages, you'll find stunning new research, unparalleled expert advice, how-to health guides, and a scientific, myth-debunking approach to natural remedies. Search for your symptoms. Find your cure. The power is yours. A clean life for you--and your family--starts now. Lose Dangerous Belly Fat, Fast: And keep it off for good. Our all-natural, 10-step program tells you what to eat, drink, and do--with immediate waist-shrinking results. Discover which probiotics help you burn more calories when you eat, which popular, "healthy" nut actually slows your metabolism, and the stealth toxin in your kitchen that activates fat cell growth (eliminate it and slash your risk of obesity by 75 percent!). Look Younger, Feel Younger: Discover the astonishing, inexpensive (and natural!) supplements that tighten skin, increase fat loss, and help build muscle. And learn some simple recipes for building anti-aging smoothies that turn fresh fruit into wrinkle-erasing superfoods. Sleep Easier Tonight: Conquer fatigue with our 9-step plan to fall asleep quickly--and stay sleeping soundly throughout the night. (Hint: A subtle scent in your bedroom could be part of the problem!) Re-energize Your Love Life. One supplement alone made a whopping 70% of women feel "more satisfied" after sex. Plus: How plant protein can re-energize your ovaries. Turn Up Your Mood Meter. This one green, leafy vegetable has been shown to improve the effects of both Prozac and talk therapy. Cure that Cold or Flu: Stop them before they start, with the newest natural options--one magical berry alone can reduce symptoms by 50 percent. Plus: A homeopathic "flu shot" that's proven 88% effective. PLUS! THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO HERBAL REMEDIES! A-Z Guide to Healing Herbs: Cure yourself with these 30 essentials, from aloe vera to white willow bark, nature's relief for migraines, eczema, menopause, UTIs, anxiety, depression, and many more. It's your new medicine cabinet, fully stocked. The Get Happy Herb Guide: The serenity savers (lemon balm, kava kava) and bliss boosters (chocolate, milk thistle) guaranteed to raise your spirits. The Best Herbs for Women: These 12 will ease your mood swings, headaches, menstrual cramps, menopause, with no nasty side effects. A must-read for husbands, too. AND! Yoga, meditation and Ayurvedic therapies: The latest science on treatments and classes, with complete how-to guides for at-home use. The Doctor's Book of Natural Health Remedies--in a world of questionable cures, it's the one book you can trust.
Call Number: RZ440 .M65 2014
Mayo Clinic book of alternative medicine by
An overview of complementary and alternative medicine discusses various treatments, including herbs and energy therapies.
Call Number: R733 .M3862 2013
The Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine by
Dr. Michael T. Murray and Dr. Joseph Pizzorno are two of the most trusted doctors of natural medicine in the world. In this third edition of The Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine, they team up once again to deliver the most powerful and up-to-date holistic remedies for more than eighty common ailments. Fully revised for the first time since 1997, this A-Z guide includes brand-new treatments, the latest scientific studies, and wisdom from today's cutting-edge research in the field of naturopathy. From dealing with acne to varicose veins, each topic includes a list of symptoms, a description, therapeutic considerations, and a treatment summary, along with suggested nutritional supplements and herbal medicines. Focusing on prevention, safety, and the key naturopathic principle of treating the whole person, this book shows how to avoid disease, increase longevity, and develop a healthy lifestyle.
Call Number: RZ433 .M87 2012
Alternative Medicine by
One of the wonderful aspects of modern medicine is that it can offer absoluteness when it comes to the mysteries of ailments; Take two of these pills and you'll be right as rain. Humans are slowly understanding however, that along side conventional medicine, there is a lot of room for effective, alternative therapies. Give your readers a must-have collection on this issue. Across four chapters, readers will evaluate whether alternative medicine works, why it is becoming so popular, whether it can exist at peace with modern medicine, and whether the government should research and regulate it. Because readers are presented with a variety of viewpoints, this book is also a great resource for report-writing and research. Superb essays sources include the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, The Office of Senator Dick Durbin, Donald Berwick, Dana Ullman, and Todd Runestad.
Call Number: R733 .A4587 2012
Evaluating Online Resources
Read this article from the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM).