Skip to main content

Science Fiction Literature: Home

A Guide to Science Fiction Literature

Databases

Library Databases

Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.

Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.

The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.

The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.

To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases

Help!

Need help finding articles?  Call the Library Reference Desk:

Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk  443-840-2592
Essex    443-840-1425

Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720

You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.

Locations

CCBC Catonsville Library
LIBR Bldg, 800 S. Rolling Rd
Baltimore, MD 21228

443-840-2730 Reference
443-840-2710 Circulation    
410-455-6436 Fax
crefdesk@ccbcmd.edu

CCBC Dundalk Library    
COMM Bldg, 7200 Sollers Point Rd
Baltimore, MD 21222

443-840-2592 Reference
443-840-2591 Circulation
443-840-3559 Fax
dlibrary@ccbcmd.edu


CCBC Essex Library
LIBR Bldg, 7201 Rossville Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21237

443-840-1425 Reference
443-840-2809 Circulation
443-840-1724 Fax
essexlibref@ccbcmd.edu

 

CCBC Extension Centers
For library services contact
CCBC Catonsville
crefdesk@ccbcmd.edu

Hunt Valley

Owings Mills

Randallstown

Definition

Science fiction is a broad genre of fiction that often involves speculations based on current or future science or technology. It is found in books, art, television, films, games, theatre, and other media.

In organizational or marketing contexts, science fiction can be synonymous with the broader definition of speculative fiction, encompassing creative works incorporating imaginative elements not found in contemporary reality; this includes fantasy, horror, and related genres.(from www.goodreads.com)

Science Fiction

Science Fiction

Science Fiction and Fantasy World News and Reviews

Loading

Subject Guide

Google Scholar

Evaluating Websites

How can you decide whether to use a website or not?

Ask yourself the following questions and decide:

Currency
How recent is the information?
How recently has the website been updated?
Is it current enough for your topic?

Relevancy/Reliability
What kind of information is included in the resource?
Does it provide information valuable to your research topic?
Is content of the resource primarily opinion?  Is it balanced?
Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
Are there advertisements on the website?

Authority
Who is the creator or author? What are their credentials?
Who is the publisher or sponsor? Are they reputable?
What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?

Purpose/Point of View
Is this fact or opinion?
Is it biased?
Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

Off Campus Access

To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access

AskUsNow! 24/7 Reference

askusnow!